Variations in the Canonical Text of Philip K. Dick’s Short Stories

Frank Hollander (author of these texts):
This is a series of documents in which I intend to compile and publish a list of
variations between the original published text of Philip K. Dick stories and the
“canonical” texts established in COLLECTED STORIES (Underwood/Miller 1987). I will
also list any variations that I find between the original text and the text in the perennial reprints in the U.S. (Citadel Twilight 1990-1992, later Citadel Press) and the ongoing reprints from Subterranean Press. Where a Project Gutenberg text is available, I will also note all variations between that text and the original. In addition, I will consult the text of stories in other Dick collections and the electronic texts that I have for the Sony Reader in order to resolve ambiguities or to determine where a variation was first introduced. Although I have access to several British reprints of COLLECTED STORIES, I will not typically consult those texts.

I report all differences in the words and punctuation, regardless of significance. But I usually ignore stray marks, variations in “house style,” and the spacing of punctuation. I do not report ambiguities in the original text such as in hyphenation and capitalization unless I think there is a strong case that the reprint texts depart from what Dick wrote.

V1 Stability

V2 Roog

V3 The Little Movement

V4 Beyond Lies the Wub

V5 The Gun

V6 The Skull

One thought on “Variations in the Canonical Text of Philip K. Dick’s Short Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.